Shooting video with my EM5 -- need help keeping the frame in focus

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by tomnevers, Jan 8, 2014.

1. tomnevers

tomnevers New to Mu-43

Apr 20, 2013
    Hello - I'm an enthusiast photographer who is relatively new to shooting video, and I'm hoping to use my OMD EM5 to shoot a bunch of semi-professional looking videos that we will host on YouTube.

My problem is that the auto focus is ruining the videos. The camera can't seem to keep the subject in focus, and the frame will go in and out of focus repeatedly during the course of the 5-20 minute videos. The camera is mounted on a tripod indoors and the subject of the videos is roughly 10 feet away, and is doing an exercise routine. As she moves, the camera loses focus and the result is incredibly distracting (and disappointing).

Is there a setting or a particular lens that would be best for shooting video? Is manual focus something I should consider? I've tried AF and C-AF and they are both giving me poor results.

I own the 14-42 kit lens, the Panasonic 25mm lens, the Oly 45mm lens, the 7-14mm panasonic wide angle lens....which is best for video?

2. M4/3

M4/3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 24, 2011
    The C-AF mechanism of the EM5 is slow and subject to hunting. The E-M1 is much better, but it would cost you $800 net to sell the EM5 and get the EM1. To solve the focusing problems you describe I use manual focus; i.e. I put the mode dial into movie mode and in the super control panel I select manual focus and then look through the viewfinder to judge focus. The EM1 is also a better camera for manual focusing because the viewfinder is much larger so you can judge focus more accurately. The best camera that I have heard of for quick and accurate continuous auto focus is the big Canon 70D.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Jay86

Jay86 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 26, 2012