1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Shooting paintings: hints?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by 13Promet, Feb 28, 2012.

1. 13Promet

13Promet Mu-43 Regular

Dec 11, 2011
    Milano
    Hi all guys,

a friend of mine, who is a semi-serious painter besides being a lawyer, will have an important exhibition in a short time.
    He asked me take the pictures for the printed catalogue.

Even if it sounds pretty simple to me, I've never done this before and I might not be aware of the tricky issues concerning such kind of photography, if any.

My plan is to employ the D300s (sorry guys, don't hate me for this :biggrin:), Micro AF-D 60/2.8 and tripod.

Lighting is not great where the paintings are, but I'm not very worried because:

- tripod allows long exposures if lighting is too poor
    - possibility to carefully set the white balance
    - pantings are 2D, so lighting angle shouldn't be that important (save extreme cases)

Am I assuming wrong or missing anything ? :confused:

Thank you in advance :thumbup:
    Alessandro

2. tomrock

tomrock Mu-43 Regular

Jun 21, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN
    Google photographing paintings and you'll find all kinds of info.

3. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX
    Lighting is the biggest thing. Other than that, use a tripod, make sure that you're shooting straight on (which means that a D300 with 60mm may be too long), fill the frame, and use a deep depth of field (f/8-f/11 or so with the D300, so that you ensure everything is in focus, and that is also the optimal aperture for optical performance on our Nikon DX cameras).
    Matt Greer Photography: How to Photograph Artwork