1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Shooting for my Church

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by jon595, Aug 30, 2012.

1. jon595

jon595 Mu-43 Veteran

May 2, 2011
    PA
    I was asked to get some pictures for my Church's website because they knew I was a hobbyist. Of course I said yes to help out and I showed up one day with my small bag of m4/3 gear.

I guess I never really thought about how to shoot during a service. They wanted shots of the music team, the Pastor and of various other things they have. It was actually difficult to get in the right mindset of being there during service, but taking pictures instead of participating. It felt very odd actually. I spoke with the Pastor before hand who is very open to whatever and as long as I didn't rush the stage, he was happy. I chose not to use any flash as both a test of the system but also trying to keep it low key. Everything was done with primes, mostly the Oly 45mm and some with the Pana 14mm. I realized that I needed a longer focal length, so I ordered a Minolta Rokkor MC 100mm f/2.5 that just arrived today. So I'll have in the arsenal for next time.

Let me know your comments and or tips for the next time. If anyone has any first hand experiences, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

2012-07-29_10-48-24.
    2012-07-29_10-44-57.
    2012-07-29_09-39-48.
    2012-08-25_18-45-07.
    2012-07-29_11-05-12.

• Like Like x 4
  2. heedpantsnow

heedpantsnow Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 24, 2011
    Wow, seems like you did a great job! I'm sure your church will be happy with them.

3. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Looks like a cool church. Interesting mix of folks.

I'm not sure I like the wide shot. Lots of dark ceiling. What about staging it, rather than doing it during Sunday service. Or asking them to stay before/after service, so you can light it better?

4. jon595

jon595 Mu-43 Veteran

May 2, 2011
    PA