1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Sharpness

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by dixeyk, Jun 3, 2011.

1. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I have been reading quite a lot about lenses. I see a good many posts about this lens or that lens being sharp or not sharp enough. I have also been following a very interesting thread on seriouscompacts about what constitutes the "Leica look".

I am not a professional and to be frank I am sure I know less about photography than most. That said, I look at my photos and I see some stuff that I like and other stuff that I do not. For instance, for a time last year I had collected a number of very nice Konica lenses. I found that I didn't particularly like the images they gave me. They were very sharp and contrasty but to my eye they were not that appealing. I am not in a position to say whether or not they were good but simply that I didn't care for them on my m43 bodies. Since then I have found that I quite like old Zuiko lenses. I have a 28/2.8, 50/1.8 and 100/2.8 and all of them produce lovely images. They certainly aren't that sharpest lenses I have used but I find the images they produce quite pleasing.

This brings me to the big question...what do you look for in a lens? Are you someone that want is super sharp or is it something else you are looking for in a lens?

For instance...I find these images pleasing

OM 100/2.8
    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dixeyk/5784425551/" title="After the Rain by dixeyk, on Flickr"> 5784425551_76e063b688_b. "1024" height="768" alt="After the Rain"></a>

Helios 44M
    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dixeyk/5079640029/" title="Blue Spruce by dixeyk, on Flickr"> 5079640029_9c6483f1ca_b. "1024" height="768" alt="Blue Spruce"></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dixeyk/5080234834/" title="Summer's End by dixeyk, on Flickr"> 5080234834_f73390dda6_b. "1024" height="768" alt="Summer's End"></a>