1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Sharpening issues

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by gardengirl13, Jul 27, 2012.

1. gardengirl13

gardengirl13 Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 26, 2012
    US
    I think I have my OMD set to low noise control etc.. With my old DSLR I had a preset USM I used and with the OMD I lowered it by quite a bit. I just printed a few images yesterday and they seem odd. Of course the three 60D images were the same, it could have just been the quick printer messing it up. Online the images look fine, but I do print my photos for home normally to 16x20. I worry they'll look over sharpened. I'm not good at photoshop, just the basics, so what can be done? Should I sharpen less? What do you guys use for a somewhat standard setting with USM? Should I maybe not sharpen at all?

2. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    Well, an example would go a long way in letting us help you.

3. goldenlight

goldenlight Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 30, 2010
    Essex
    John
    You mention that your camera is set for low noise control, so presumably you are shooting JPEGs. What level of in-camera sharpening have you set?

4. gardengirl13

Jun 26, 2012
    US
    Sample won't work since digitally they look fine, it's the print which unless you come over I can't show you.

I'm not sure how to change the sharpening in camera? I have it set to jpeg super fine, sorry but my crappy laptop doesn't like RAW and for now I want to get to used to things with the camera before I attempt RAW.

5. MajorMagee

MajorMagee Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2011
    Dayton, OH
    What about the print looks odd? If they're over sharpened they'll have halos around any high contrast edges.

You can change the Sharpness in the camera from the Super Control Panel (the little S in a circle).