1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Sharp portrait (40mm ~ 60mm) pancake lens?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by New Daddy, Jan 24, 2011.

1. New Daddy

New Daddy Mu-43 Regular

Jan 24, 2011
    I'm a newbie and just got my GF1, my very first interchangeable lens camera, just a week ago.
    Can someone recommend a sharp pancake lens in the 40mm - 60mm range? I've been going over the reviews of a few candidates - Konica 50mm 1.4, 1.7; Konica 52mm 1.8; Konica 57mm 1.4; Olympus 50mm 1.4, 1.8 - but was drowining in the sea of information.

I have a couple of criteria:

1. Sharp image: I understand that some people prefer soft image when taking portraits, but I prefer sharp image at wide open.

2. Less than $80

Thanks!

2. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus

Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    The Konica 40mm is tack sharp. It's a great portrait lens with mild compression.
    It's the smallest of the lot you posted.

3. I'm not sure if any of the lenses you've listed are true 'pancakes'. The following link lists some of the pancake lenses available;

Index of Pancake Lenses at Teeeeejirrrrr

In your price range you'd be looking at the;

Industar 50mm f3.5
    Minolta Rokkor 45mm f2
    Nikon Nikkor 50mm f1.8 E
    Konica Hexanon 40mm f1.8

Pancake lenses may not be as sharp as a normal size lenses due to their compact design and generally fewer glass elements.

4. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    None of those lenses are pancakes. They are simple single focal length lenses.

5. New Daddy

New Daddy Mu-43 Regular

Jan 24, 2011
    Ok. My bad. I thought pancake = prime lens = single focal lens.
    I don't know where I got mixed up, but that was the conclusion I drew after reading the relevant Wikipedia articles.

6. New Daddy

New Daddy Mu-43 Regular

Jan 24, 2011