Setting the focal length in the IBIS menu

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by pwol, Jul 15, 2015.

1. pwol

pwol Mu-43 Regular

Apr 21, 2015
    CT
    This might be a stupid question, but why do we have to do this?

So the camera (I just bought an E-M5ii) can detect the focal length you are using and display it on the top right of the screen when you half press the shutter button. It also detects the focal length when it adjusts the minimum shutter speed in aperture priority for example. How difficult would it be to detect the FL and adjust it in the IBIS menu for you?

I don't mind this with my primes, but it's pretty annoying with my zoom lens. I'm new to Olympus, is there something I'm missing or just unaware of?

2. RamblinR

RamblinR Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 16, 2012
    Sunshine Coast, Qld Australia
    Maria
    You only need to do this with adapted lenses as there is no information fed to the camera to advise the focal length. ibis adjusts it's strength by the focal length of the lens. If you don't want to do this and shutter speeds are fast enough to not need ibis then turn ibis off.

If you are using m43 lenses then it is all automatic.

3. alan1972

alan1972 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Malaga, Spain
    Alan Grant
    Yes, you are missing something. You only need to do this for lens that do not communicate electronically with the camera. Typically these are either legacy lenses used with adapters, or a small number of lenses from other manufacturers such as Samyang, or the two Olympus "body cap lenses". Of course these lenses are also unable to display the focal length on screen.

For lenses that do communicate with the camera it works exactly as you describe - the camera detects the focal length and adjusts the IBIS accordingly, ignoring any focal length input in the menu.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo