Seriously need your help and advice

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by quinlan, Aug 1, 2011.

1. quinlan

quinlan New to Mu-43

Jul 31, 2011
    Hello all,
    I'm new to MFT cameras - in fact I'll be when I receive the GH2 Panasonic I ordered - and I'd appreciate your help on a couple things.

When I bought my GH2 body, which is intended for film work only, I was counting on using old Nikkor primes I have, namely a 55mm 3.5, a 105mm 2.8 and a 105mm 2.5.
    Now, if I understand correctly, a 55mm 3.5 is on a MFT camera actually equivalent to 110mm 7.0, which is not exactly wide or fast, so maybe I'll have to buy new primes after all. Is what I just said more or less right?

So here's what I'd need to know: what kind of lenses should I get for movie work with a MFT camera? Do you need especially big aperture? What is the best thing I could do?
    I looked up some wide angle lenses and found the following:
    1 Sigma 20mm 1.4 Olympus or Nikon mount
    1 Sigma 30mm 1.8 Aspheric
    1 Nikon 35mm 2.0 Afd
    1 Tokina 28mm 2.8 Ais
    1 Canon 35mm 2.0 Fd mount

Are those suited to what I intend to do with that GH2 (that is, again, movies, with preferably wide angle shots and considerable movement, low light sometimes, etc)? Or maybe you have suggestions as to better alternatives?

Thank you.
  2. songs2001

songs2001 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2011
    If you want wide and fast, I'll look into mounting C mount lenses, GH2 has a crop mode which lets you use these lenses without much vignetting.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada