Saturday Morning Coffee Time with the E-M5

Discussion in 'Other Genres' started by TDP, May 26, 2012.

1. TDP

TDP Guest

2. Uwharrie

Uwharrie Mu-43 Veteran

May 10, 2012
    North Carolina
    Lynne Ezzell
    That is one interesting coffee brewing set up! What is it? From the last photo I assume you roast your own beans? I have tried but cannot get as good of results as the coffee roaster we use from New Orleans.
  3. TDP

TDP Guest

It is the vacuum method of brewing. The resulting cup is between French Press and Chemex style.

I've been roasting for 12 years, small batch stuff only. When I started it was impossible to get quality, fresh roasted coffee where I had just moved to so I turned to home roasting. Been doing it ever since.

I have a Rancilio Silvia, Rancilio Rocky, a vacuum syphon, a chemex style (but uses cloth) and an ice drip coffee maker that is about 2 feet tall :)
  4. kanasgowatom

kanasgowatom Mu-43 Regular

Nov 11, 2011
    What an amazing set of images, I was totally blown away. In all honesty, and if you are at all interested, the final image, of the coffee containers, was a bit of a buzz kill. It sort of took away the mystique of the coffee making equiptment. IMHO. I really enjoyed the series.

5. ill_dawg

ill_dawg Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 26, 2010
    Haven't seen one of those in a while, but I used to enjoy getting a vacuum syphon if i wasn't in a hurry. There was a place by where I was working in Jakarta that used to make a pretty good kopi luwak in one of those. Good stuff.

Sent from my HTC Desire Z using Tapatalk 2
  6. Uwharrie

Uwharrie Mu-43 Veteran

May 10, 2012
    North Carolina
    Lynne Ezzell
    And I thought we were coffee affectinados with our capresso machine. ( I do like French press but never makes enough for us) You take coffee to a whole new level! LOVE the photos BTW!
  7. timein

timein Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 9, 2011
    K cups here- but really like the photos.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. TDP

TDP Guest