Samyang, or the reason I switched back to FF

EarthQuake

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Years ago I shot with a Sony FF DSLR system. A900, lovely 1.4 primes and 2.8 zooms from Sigma and Minolta. But it was all too annoying to carry around, my kit weighed about 9 pounds at one point. I'm not a professional, I do most of my photography when I travel, so the big pro kit was more something that I had because I could - rather than something I needed.

So when the EM5 came out I was thrilled. I tried some of the earlier M43 cameras, but they were, in a word: terrible. Finally, with the EM5 there was a mirrorless camera worth using. A camera that was fun again, that I took with me when I went out. I originally bought it as a secondary travel system, but the A900 and my entourage of lard lenses sat dejected on the shelf. Soon after, the EM1 came out and addressed the concerns I had with the EM5 (mostly ergonomics and AF). I sold all of the Sony A mount gear back in 2013 or so - a good move, you don't want to try selling A mount gear these days.

I used (and loved) my EM1's for about 6 years. Though I had no shortage of problems with them. The IBIS in one of them failed, I ripped out the USB port using a remote shutter, the grips fell off, the dial fell off (okay, that was the EM5). The dials stopped registering, were repaired, stopped, were repaired, and failed a third time. I got very familiar with Precision Camera's repair service. Still, I rather enjoyed the little buggers and the freedom of a small system.

At some point, Sony released the original A7. I was interested and got a chance to try it, and it was, like those early M43 cameras: terrible. Poor ergonomics, awful responsiveness. A good sensor in a half-baked shell. Then the A7 II series bodies came out, they were much better, but still behind the original EM1 in usability. My trusty Olympus and friends stayed in my bag.