Sacred Heart Cathedral

Wasabi Bob

Mu-43 All-Pro
For your viewing, a shot of the Sacred Heart Cathedral in Newark, NJ. Took this shot using the DMC-GH1, 7 RAW shots HDR processed using Photomatix

3883417902_c936a5f306_b.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
"1024" height="550" alt="Panorama Basilica Cathedral" /></a>[img/]

Additional photos of the cathedral can be viewed here: Sacred Heart Cathedral Basilica - Newark, NJ

playak47

Mu-43 Veteran
wow that looks nice. what did the 7 shots consist of as far as variation?

Vivalo

Olympus loser
Cool! So is this HDR photo also stitched panorama? And if so, how does the workflow go? I am a total newb to HDR photography but very keen to learn this technique.

Krang

Mu-43 Veteran
I think you could have left some shadows/darker areas, without losing any detail, to make it look a bit more natural.

Now it looks like a CGI image. I just don't really like the über HDR look, so no offense intended :)

Wasabi Bob

Mu-43 All-Pro
Actually, the entire shot consisted of 21 RAW photos (3 images x 7 bracketed) than stitched together. The finished shot was than cropped to print a 12x36.

The photo was processed with Photomatix, with some minimal "structure" adjustment using Nik's Viveza.

The cathedral is very evenly lit, though the lights themselves and the stained glass windows really stand out too much, hence my decision to use HDR. I printed several versions at varying levels of HDR processing and showed them to several people both with and without photographic experience. Hands down, this was the winner.

I was invited back to shoot their holiday candlelight concert which was much more difficult to photograph. Several more photos are on my page. This year's concert (free) is scheduled for Dec 16-17.

Narnian

Nobody in particular ...
Real Name
Richard Elliott
Superb! This shows how HDR can be used well.

It would be interesting to see one (or all) of the 7 prints that made this up.

Wasabi Bob