1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Rotating the manual foucs ring while not attached?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by ballcall2, Aug 28, 2012.

1. ballcall2

ballcall2 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 11, 2012
    Can something happen to a lens if someone rotates the manual focus ring while the lens is not attached to the camera?

2. Howi

Howi Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 23, 2011
    Sheffield
    Howard
    Nope! most lenses use 'focus by wire' which means when you turn the focus ring a signal is sent to the camera body wich then sends a signal to the lens focus motor. Some lenses that have ultrasonic motors for focusing such as SWD lenses by Olympus will focus without power.
    What were you thinking of in particular?

3. ballcall2

ballcall2 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 11, 2012
    I am a novice in micro 4/3. I already bought the panasonic 14-45mm lens and the camera itself is on the way. A family member of mine mistakenly rotated the manual foucus ring (fortunately he didn't touch the glass). I just wanted to make sure that the lens will function properly when the I will attach it to my camera.

4. Robstar1963

Robstar1963 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 10, 2011
    Isle of Wight England UK
    Robert (Rob)
    Hi. No harm will be done by anyone moving the focussing ring or by turning the zoom whilst the lens is not attached
    Someone touching the lens surface wouldn't be a serous matter either as long as they dont have anything on their fingers which is a solvent or something
    Get yourself a nice clean lens cleaning cloth for such eventualities and a 'lens pen' which is a permanently damp cleaning pen on one end and a lens brush on the other - they are a few pounds on eBay
    The best thing to do to protect your lens surface is to get a 52mm UV filter which simply screws into the thread at the end of the lens and gives you a glass surface to protect the lens against knocks or fingers