Romantic Portraits

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Nathan King, Sep 18, 2013.

1. Nathan King

Nathan King Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2013
    Omaha, NE
    I have an acquaintance who just celebrated her 40th anniversary. She would like some informal and romantic outdoor portraits taken of them in late October when the fall colors peak. Since I am not a professional I will not be charging her. I've shown her some of my portraits that I have made with my E-M5/75mm/45mm and Canon AE-1/85mm cameras and lenses, and she's happy with what I can do, but I would really like to make these the best portraits I've done.

I plan to scout a few locations in the morning and evening to find colorful backgrounds with areas of shade/diffused lighting. I've also purchased a few books on portrait photography posing. Does anybody have any tips or foolproof poses that they could share for this type of photography?
  2. briloop

briloop Mu-43 Regular

May 23, 2012
    Mount Juliet, TN
    Three suggestions: 1) have an off-camera flash mounted in a softbox with remote trigger; 2) search online for some sample poses; and 3) get somebody to model for you and practice before you photograph your acquaintance.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. seanho

seanho New to Mu-43

Nov 4, 2012
    Langley, BC
    Heartily agree with briloop's suggestions, especially (3) -- getting some practice with a live model is well worth it! First time I did that (just with a willing friend) it ironed out so many rookie mistakes I was making, that no amount of book reading would have helped with.