1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Rokkor Lens recommendations?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by aznmochamike, Jan 4, 2011.

1. aznmochamike

aznmochamike Mu-43 Regular

Jan 4, 2011
    California
    Hi every1... my name is Michael and I am just starting out with photography. I have been using the GF1 with the 20mm 1.7 lens for the last half year and wanted to try different lenses since this is a 4/3rds system. I was going to go with the rokkor lens because I was looking at reviews and liked their coloration that they gave off and also their bokeh. I had a list of what I was going to get and so if anyone has any recommendations as to why or why not on which ones can you let me know? I also wanted to stick with the rokkor because I didnt want to have to buy different adaptors for them.

Minolta rokkor 58mm 1.2 or Minolta rokkor MC 58mm 1.4
    I cant decide between the 2. From what I have read, the 1.2 is better but then very hard to MF even with a EVF on the camera. Does anyone else have that issue?

Minolta rokkor 50mm 1.4
    Mostly for portraits along with the 2 above

Minolta rokkor 50mm 3.5 macro
    Just for Macro fun =)

Thanks in advance!!!

2. chris.j.sorensen

chris.j.sorensen Mu-43 Regular

Feb 5, 2010
    Freehold, NJ
    I have the 50/1.4 & a lowly 50/1.7 and the latter is on my camera 99% of the time. Unless you are doing SUPER low light stuff, the 1.7 more than holds it's own.

3. carpandean

carpandean Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 29, 2010
    Western NY
    The cost difference between the 58mm f/1.2 and the 58mm f/1.4 has generally been huge (like 4x.) I'd find it hard to justify spending that much for a half stop at the low end, unless I knew that it had significantly better IQ, as well.

The 50mm f/1.4 is a really nice lens that can be had for under $100 in excellent condition. I also highly recommend the 85mm f/2.0 MD, if you want a longer lens at some point.

4. bogolisk

bogolisk Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 30, 2010