1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Returned my Epm1, need help with replacement

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Crn3371, May 18, 2012.

1. Crn3371

Crn3371 Mu-43 Rookie

May 14, 2012
    I just sent my refurbed mini and VF2 back to Cameta for the date/time issue. Kind if disappointed that a known problem like that escaped the refurbishment process. That being said, I'm open to suggestions for a replacement. Between the date/time issue, and the reported ibis issues, I'm a little hesitant on getting another mini. Viewfinder is mandatory, so if it's another Pen it's going to have the Vf2 on it most of the time. I'm new to m43 (selling off my Canon gear) and my main criteria is size and weight (hence the mini purchase). Not a big fan of PP so everything I hear about the Oly jpegs sounds right up my alley. Thinking that I'd rather have a built in flash rather than having to remove the viewfinder in order to use flash. For that reason I'm leaning towards the Ep3. How much bigger than the mini is it? Significant, or not enough to matter? Logic tells me the Pansonic G3 is the best choice due to the fact that it has both a built in EVF and a flash, but Id rather go with the range finder styling as opposed to the faux slr styling. How's the Panasonic Gx1? Is the Panny accesory EVF comparable to the VF2? Any help and suggestions is welcome.

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    The EP3 is a bit bigger. The EPM1 w/pancake can fit in loose pants easier than an EP3. If that isn't your aim, then there isn't much difference. Once you put on the VF2, it's out of the pants pocket anyway. EP3s are relatively affordable right now if you find a refurb, with no know issues that I'm aware of.

3. troll

troll Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 25, 2012