1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Replacing Lightroom with X?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by pake, Mar 24, 2015.

1. pake

pake Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 14, 2010
    Finland
    Teemu
    Hi guys,

I've been using Lightroom on my Windows 7 for 3-4 years now. First I used LR3 and now LR4. I didn't switch to LR5 since I read it only gets slower and the LR4 is already way too slow for my taste.

After processing 300 pictures last weekend and getting frustrated with the (lack of) speed of LR4 I started thinking about changing the software. I also happened to bump into a short comparison here (http://www.digitalcameraworld.com/2...oshop-cc-and-7-photoshop-alternatives-tested/ ) which made me really want to think more about my options.

So, I'm guessing there must be people here who have switched successfully from Lightroom to either DxO Optics Pro or Phase One Capture One Pro (or something else). I'd like to know if those programs are faster to use and do they really produce better pictures. At least they do claim that LR is poor with noise reduction (which I'm already forced to apply in Photoshop since LR does it poorly).

Any comments on those other programs? What's different/missing/better with program X versus Lightroom? Obviously I could download trial versions of them all but I'd prefer NOT to waste my time in vain when I can get most of the needed info by asking first. If the program X seems worth trying then I'll try it out but I don't really have the time to start learning new programs without a good reason.

2. Richella

Richella The Wandering Scotsman

Aug 21, 2011
    Kuala Lumpur
    I saw a YouTube video recently that exspoused the speed of Photo Mechanic. It's a sorting, rating, tagging and publishing software that all sports photographers use. Apparently it's really fast. Don't think it allows and processing other than the basic exposure and cropping etc.