1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Replacement for E-M5

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Zobeid Zuma, May 16, 2016.

1. Zobeid Zuma

Zobeid Zuma Mu-43 Regular

May 13, 2013
    My old E-M5 has just about reached the end, I think. As I consider a replacement, it seems that I have several options.

E-M5 Mark 2 would seem obvious, but I'm a little wary of the swivel screen. It seems awkward in comparison with the tilt screen, although I must admit being able to turn it inward for protection does have some appeal -- I've broken the screen on my E-M5 twice!

E-M10 Mark 2 would give me a tilt screen and save me some money, but with compromises in some other areas. And, it still wouldn't get me away from the labyrinth of Olympus menu system, which continues to irk me.

So. . . How about these Panasonics? I have no experience with them. DMC-GX8? How is the viewfinder on that, as compared with Olympus? How is the menu system and user interface? How about the DMC-G7?

According to the specs listed at B&H, the GX8 viewfinder is 0.77X magnification and the G7 is 1.4X? Wait, that can't be right. . . That would make the view almost twice as big! Is that right? And then the E-M10 Mk. 2 is listed at 1.08X. . . Can these specs be trusted at all?

I do consider a good EVF as a high priority.

2. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014
    EM1 or better yet (if your camera is still working) EM1mk2

Last edited: May 17, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  3. davidzvi

davidzvi Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 12, 2012
    Outside Boston MA
    David