Recover original 4:3 frame in Aperture

CCRoo

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
87
I apologize if this has been addressed elsewhere. Creating good search terms is an art that eludes me.

How do I use Aperture to recover the full 4:3 sensor image for a photograph I took with the aspect ratio set at 3:2?

Thanks!
 

gpburdell

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
472
Did you shoot in RAW mode or RAW+JPEG or just JPEG only?
If JPEG only I suspect you're SOL regardless of which program you're using.
 

gpburdell

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
472
Very interesting. Just tried it here too.

In Lightroom I was able to "Reset" the crop and get to the original 4:3 in the RAW file. Lightroom displayed that the RAW had been cropped and showed the crop on-screen when in the Develop module. I was able to reset/remove the crop. (LR5.6 on Mavericks, E-M10).

I generally never shoot cropped since I hate throwing away image data, but it now appears I can do so while shooting R+J and have the ability to get jpg out of camera and still go back to an uncropped "digital negative" if needed.
 

CCRoo

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
87
I'm working with RAW files. Nice to know there is a clean solution for this in Lightroom. Is there really none in Aperture?
 

Matero

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
528
Location
Finland
It is odd as I am sure Aperture used to allow you to see the whole RAW... maybe something changed either in Aperture or how Oly write the RAW...

K
I also think it's odd. I'm 99% sure one can see whole RAW in Aperture. Not able to verify right now but I'll also look this when back home tomorrow.
 

Matero

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
528
Location
Finland
I also think it's odd. I'm 99% sure one can see whole RAW in Aperture. Not able to verify right now but I'll also look this when back home tomorrow.
I have to admit that I remembered wrong or something changed as Kevin also already said. I was pretty sure that Aperture could convert 3:2 or other cropped images to original full image RAW (Olympus RAW) (without hacking files with EXIF tools) But apparently this is NOT the case according to my short study and tests. Well, Olympus Viewer 3 could easily do that, so there is a workaround, even without Lightroom.

But now I regret even less my painful change over to Lightroom :)
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom