1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Recommendations for first 'adpted lens'

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Dave in Wales, Nov 24, 2011.

1. Dave in Wales

Dave in Wales Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 5, 2011
    West Wales
    Fist up can we please clafiry something.

I have the ubiquitious Pany 14-42, with crop factor of 2 this equates to 28-84 in FF

Sooooooo...! an old 50mm FF lens equates to 25mm in m43, correct?

Can any lens, FF or 43 be used on m43 with an adaptor.
    Focusing is obviously manual.
    Metering I assume is TTL, manual or Av.

I have the following Pany lenses..7-14, 14-42, 45-200 and I'm looking to play around 'cheaply' with an 'adapted lens'.

First, considering my line-up, is there any point and second what would be the best/inexpensive lens/adaptor to start with.

I've been 'into' photography for about 50 years but as you will gather I'm very new to the m43 system.

D in W

2. Dan Lopez

Dan Lopez Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 12, 2011

That would be incorrect a 50mm legacy lens = 100mm on M43 2x crop factor..

FD glass is great, and relatively cheap imo.. you can get adapters for most legacy glass for 10-15.00 bux on the cheap end.

3. dpj

dpj Mu-43 Regular

Jul 20, 2011
    As above, old Canon FD lenses can be had relatively cheaply. I have a 50mm f.18, a 28mm f2.8 and a 135mm f3.5, all 3 came in under £65 due to trauling through ebay. The adaptors can be found for little money too. The lenses give nice image results and i find them great for video work.

• Like Like x 1
  4. RDM

RDM Mu-43 All-Pro

here is one Idea

yes you can use just about any lens. Even old C mount movie lenses that were designed for 16mm film movie cameras.
    Just make sure you stay away from CS-mount lenses. Also only get focal lengths at 25mm and above when considering C-mount lenses, otherwise you will get severe vignetting.