1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Recommendation needed for a fast prime

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by delkhouri, Apr 10, 2016.

1. delkhouri

delkhouri Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 1, 2016
    First let me preface this by stating that I am a complete beginner to photography and m43. I wanted to get a good camera to take pictures of family, trips, and hikes. I bought an Olympus OMD-EM10II after Christmas and I have the kit 14-42II lens and bough the 40-150 4.0-5.6 for some extra zoom.

I am still getting the hang of it all and have been really impressed with this camera's capabilities. I've managed to produce some really nice pictures (or at least not fouled up the camera producing some really nice pictures)

The problem I am having is that when I am taking pictures of my 2.5 year old daughter inside, I am getting quite a few blurry pictures or pictures that have large blurry areas. I am thinking that a fast prime that lets in some more light will help. I tried to go to a couple local camera stores, and while they carry a very limited selection of M43 stuff they have an attitude that noone ever uses or buys it so they can't be much help. They tend to be focused on DSLR's and Sony cameras.

I am looking for a lens that I can use indoors to take pictures of my very active daughter, as well as take pictures of landscape/nature. I have also done a ton of research and here are some contendors/conclusions that I have come up with.

- Panasonic 14 2.8 - too slow in low light and probably too wide for my needs.
    - Panasonic Leica 15mm 1.7 - maybe too wide?
    - Olympus 17mm 1.8 - seems like a good option but would like some opinions
    - Sigma 19mm 2.8 - too slow in low light
    - Panasonic 20mm 1.7 - a good option but worried about slow Autofocus