Recommendation for legacy prime lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Will H, Apr 26, 2015.

1. Will H

Will H New to Mu-43

Apr 26, 2015
    Hi everyone

I'm new to all this having just bought a Panasonic G3, and I'm looking to get a second hand prime lens to use with it via an adapter.

Will £100 ($150) get me anything reasonable?

Any advice appreciated

Many thanks

2. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Yes, there are a lot of good lenses even below 50$ if you are not in a hurry. Or with that price you can get very good lenses (Nikon 28/2.8, Nikon 105/2.5, Canon FD 400/4.5, Tamron 70-210/3.5 just to name a few). Just search ebay for "manual focus".

The 50mm are usually the cheapest ones. Nikon Series E is a compact one for example, but there are many.

Have a look here for some options:

Also consider the Sigma primes if simply looking for cheap but good lenses.
  3. ManofKent

ManofKent Hopefully still learning

Dec 26, 2014
    Faversham, Kent, UK
    It depends what focal length you want, and how fast...

My favourite legacy prime is the Carl Zeiss Flektogon 35mm 2.4 - generally sells for around £80-100. M42 adapter will be around £10-15.

Slightly longer focal length the Konica 40mm f1.8 is a very nice lens (although it's a bit flare prone wide open) very good from f2, particularly with a hood (around £30-40).

Longer still there are a wide range of 50's available very cheaply - my favourite is the Nikkor 50 f2 (£50?). The Konica 50 1.7 is very nice too and slightly cheaper.

Plenty of 135's available. I like the Carl Zeiss MC 135/3.5 - small, and sharp and the Tair 11 - big heavy and Russian, but gorgeous bokeh... Neither are expensive.

Plenty of other choices too...
  4. edmsnap

edmsnap Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 20, 2011
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Canon FD 50mm f/1.4

Fast, beautiful, a go-to lens for its two-decade existence.

Mint copies go for around $100. The adapter will set you back $10.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Turbofrog