Recommendation for beginner's book/dvd?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by duvinclunk, Sep 16, 2012.

1. duvinclunk

duvinclunk Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2012
    I have been perusing through the plethora of books/manuals on your site for different cameras, shooting styles, experience levels, etc. and was wondering if you had a recommendation. I'm new to photography and don't fully grasp the procedures and adjustments of the camera and am super eager to learn. I purchased an OMD EM5 from you and have played around with it for a few weeks. I'd now like to start learning more and getting familiar with shutter speeds, aperture, ISO, etc. and when and how to adjust them. Is there a book you'd recommend or even a DVD? I love the idea of a DVD as I'm a very visual person but an instructional book works all the same. Thanks!
  2. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

It may be a few days before B&H replies because they are on holiday for Rosh Hashanah.
  3. duvinclunk

duvinclunk Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2012
    Yes, their website certainly screams so huh? Haha!
  4. capodave

capodave Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 4, 2010
    Southern Cal
    I've used digital 1 to 1.
    Many of the videos are free on youtube.
  5. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Adorama also has some free videos - save some money! :biggrin:
  6. duvinclunk

duvinclunk Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2012
    Thanks! I'll look into it.
  7. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    I found Scott Kelby's "The Digital Photography Book" series to be a good, approachable place to start learning about the technical aspects of photography.

The fourth volume was released this year, but I'd start with Volume 1. I went through them all, but I definitely experienced decreased marginal returns with each book.
  8. Chuck-B&H

Chuck-B&H Sponsor

Apr 28, 2012