Recommendation for a new (second) camera.

JVgiar

New to Mu-43
Hello,

I have owned (and loved) my Olympus OM-D E-M5 since 2013. It is still in a very good condition but now I want a second body. I am not a professional photographer, only a so-called "enthusiast" photographer: street photography, family photos, portraits, travel photography, and lately, also I started to take photos of the projects that my daughter, an interior designer, is working on. I do not use the camera for video.

I want (not need) a second body for two reasons:

1. I just simply fancy the idea of holding, learning, and enjoying a new camera, for the pleasure of playing around with something new and different. I also want the new camera to be an upgrade from the E-M5.

2. To have a different lens on each body(no need to change lenses all the time)

I was considering the OM-D E-M5 Mark II, but I had no success in finding a new one. I have found 2 second-hand 5Mark II but the owners are far away from where I live. I have no car to travel there and during this COVID period, I also prefer to travel as little as possible via public transportation, certainly not to search for a second-hand camera. Plus, I am not such an expert to make the right evaluation about the mechanical condition of a used camera unless I see something broken or suspicious. So it will be something new and not second-hand.

So now I am considering an E-M5 Mark III or maybe an E-M10 III (which cost half the price of the E-M5 Mark III) The E-M10 III is great for my budget, the E-M5 Mark III a bit more than my budget but to too much and an E-M1 Mark II is far from my budget. Maybe the E-M5 Mark III could be a mini E-M1 Mark II?

For my needs that I have described, which of these two do you think I would better off?

Thank you very much.

Last edited:

Hoffelijk

Mu-43 Veteran
Real Name
Jeroen