recommend an insert bag?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by flamingfish, Dec 3, 2012.

1. flamingfish

flamingfish Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 16, 2012
    As requested by family members, I'm putting together a Christmas list (on Amazon, because that's where my family shops). I'm thinking I would like an insert to use in any one of my bazillion not-officially-camera-bags.

Here's my current photo gear: Oly ePL3, Oly 14-42 lens (original version, not the Mark II or the R), Oly 17mm, Pana 45-175. In theory I'm not going to add anything significant in the near future, so I'm not looking for an insert with room to grow.

Soooo -- brand and size recommendations? Crumpler, Timbuk2, other? I'm looking for pretty good accessibility and reasonable protection for ordinary walking-around conditions -- not planning to engage in any extreme sports with this stuff. Price is a consideration, but I don't want to spend money on crappy quality.

(If it matters, I'm a noob upgrading from a P&S, still feeling my way around this photo stuff.)
  2. Steven

Steven Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2012
    I have Crumpled Haven insert in smallest size that I use. It's good if a bit expensive. Your kit should fit fne . My main complaint is that it is not really well suited for taking thing out and putting them back in quickly because the top cover kind of gets in the way. I want to try the smallest Timbuktu insert because it seems more wide open from the top.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    David Dornblaser
    I have Crumpler Haven small as well. I can get a body w/14 - 42IIR on its side and the 40-150 in the bag. You can stack lenses to add your 17mm. As Steven posted getting gear out of the Haven is not the fastest and that is because the Havens are pretty tall, clearly designed for big DSLRs and not m4/3s
  4. OhWellOK

OhWellOK Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 4, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY