1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

RAW processing apps for ipad

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by runner girl, Jul 7, 2013.

1. runner girl

runner girl Mu-43 Regular

Nov 26, 2011
    I will be taking a three week vacation and won't be taking a computer - just my iPad. I am looking at the iPad apps piRAWnha and PhotoRaw. Does anyone have any experience with either or both?

2. swampduck

swampduck Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 29, 2013
    Taneytown , MD
    Dan
    Snapseed is what I am using. I have the camera kit and it imports raw files. I can then see them and process as needed.

3. slothead

slothead Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 14, 2012
    Frederick, MD
    I agree with Dan RunnerGirl. Snapseed is a pretty good app. It has its issues, but overall it is a pretty valuable app for me. I have no experience with the two you mentioned.

4. mtipton1064

mtipton1064 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 1, 2013
    The two raw processing apps you mention are very slow! I use Photogene, Snapseed, and Retouch. I take all of my pictures in raw+jpg. On the iPad you will be post processing the jpg. At home you will have the raw.

5. robbie36

robbie36 Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 25, 2010
    Bangkok
    rob collins
    I am probably making the same point a mtipton1064. Snapseed does not process 'raw' files. If you import raw files to your ipad, snapseed will process the embedded jpeg within the raw file. So essentially 'snapseed' can handle 'raw' files - it cant actually edit them.

6. slothead

slothead Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 14, 2012
    Frederick, MD
    You make a good point Robbie. In fact you can never see raw files as an image. To see the image the file has to be "interpreted" into an image. My guess is that you always see the JPG (or some image file). Obviously raw data is not an image (it's a string of 1s and 0s that bear no resemblance to what your eyes see). But you are still correct in that Snapseed is not editing the raw fle.