Raw or jpeg?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Photorebel, Apr 10, 2014.

1. Photorebel

Photorebel Mu-43 Regular

Nov 14, 2013
    Jeff Mims
    I shot raw a lot with dslrs, but with the EM 1, I really like what I'm getting from jpegs..in portrait setting.

This was a shot from yesterday, with only slight increase in exposure in post. Other than that sooc. Didn't adjust WB or skin tones.

Maybe I'm relying too much on auto, but if it delivers the results I want, does it matter? Both with EM 1 and 75 lens, on portrait setting, auto WB, shot in AP.

p308484491-4.

p326023358-4.

• Like Like x 6
  2. RKTodd

RKTodd Mu-43 Regular

Dec 6, 2012
    Indiana
    RAW can be a hard habit to break :)
    I too am liking the results from EM-1 and jpeg. I say, if it's a somewhat normal situation, then jpeg is the way to go.

Very nice shots by-the-way! I especially like the first one.

3. Photorebel

Photorebel Mu-43 Regular

Nov 14, 2013
    Jeff Mims
    Thank you. I'm still learning the EM1…it's a capable camera. More so than the photographer. :)
    raw does give me more to work with, but tried portrait setting for first time yesterday. I'm inclined to stick with it.

4. Harvey Melvin Richards

Harvey Melvin Richards Photo Posting Junkie

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah
    I have my E-M10 set at RAW + jpeg, but I really haven't found the need for the RAW yet. Part of the problem is my inexperience with PP, but to my eye, my jpeg's look very good.

5. DL Photo

DL Photo Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 15, 2012
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    Dave
    I have worked with Photoshop, Topaz plugins, Photomatix etc for the last few years. Those programs are addictive......but excellent once you learn how to use them. Just a little tweaking can sometimes change the picture all together. Even just with a few minor adjustments.

However, sometimes the best picture is the one that you just taken and no need for adjustments.