Rather annoyed with an ebay seller in returning adapters

KBeezie

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Sep 15, 2012
Messages
1,367
Location
Grand Rapids, Mi
Real Name
Karl Blessing
I figured I would get some cheap adapters as spares just in case and I've had decent luck in the past so I figured I would do a search for BIN listing for a PK and AI adapter to micro-43rd and restrict the listings to United States only (though I should have checked the seller profile to see where they are based and this one happened to be based in China but listed item location as United States).

Anywho long story short, I get the adapters, immediate problems already.

The PK Adapter
  • It's not the same one as shown in the listing, doesn't have that studded/textured ring around the end I wanted but rather the more common smooth barrel look with a couple recesses.
  • It doesn't fit at all, it's like it's slightly warped so it can't fit into the camera without being cock-eyed*

*The seller actually told me to try to make it fit, I told them I was not *forcing* anything into my camera, that it was utterly stupid to suggest that. If it doesn't fit smoothly in, I'm not going to attempt going further than that.

The AI Adapter
  • It's missing the screw around the M4/3 mount base that prevents the adapter from turning too far counter-clockwise when you go to un-mount it, hence not something I'd want to use in the camera.

I provided pictures of both adapters, highlighted what the problem was, showed several pictures (attached to ebay) showing how it wouldn't mount and so forth, initially I was just going to ask for an exchange but they kept leaving cookie cutter messages and broken english, and then not responding with something coherent for a while. Basically asking me to try to jerry-rig the converters.

The initial response back contact wise (on the 3rd):

Really sorry for that,we need to send the picture including the SKU number to our supplier to get a reasonable solution for you .Could you please send some photos of this problem to show us the whole situation via EBAY message by attachment so that we could check it and make a record?And we will give you a proper solution to rectify this situation after checking.Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

If you have any other problems,please feel free to contact us.

Best regards.

- ecamcity
and
Thanks for your email,1)The White Bag has : SKU030768 PCK;Color depth is different, because the display different photos

2)Pk M4/3,if you have used the worng camera?

If you have any problems, please feel free to get in touch with us , we will do our best to solve it for you.

Best Wishes
and most of the other responses were just repeats of the previous ones.

Then I went ahead and did a 'request a refund' on both, explaining the same information I already provided.

The main thing they keep responding back with is that they want me to take a video of the problem and email them outside of ebay, I already explained to them as I only have one camera on hand right now I cannot effectively take a video of the problem and furthermore I will not communicate outside of the ebay system.

hanks for your support.Please do not worry,we will try our best to solve your problem.For this case,could you please send a video showing your problem to our mail.The address is angle.babyzeng@fivestarslike.com. And please add your eBay ID on the title so that we could check it easily and solve your problem soon.After confirming the problem, we will come up with the appropriate solution. Waiting for your reply. If you have any other problems,please feel free to contact us. Best regards.
Then after my response:

could you please send a video showing your problem to our mail.The address is angle.babyzeng@fivestarslike.com. And please add your eBay ID on the title so that we could check it easily and solve your problem soon.After confirming the problem, we will come up with the appropriate solution. Waiting for your reply. If you have any other problems,please feel free to contact us. Best regards.
Then after I further re-stated I am not communicating outside of the ebay system

But we need the video to check the problem. Hope you can understand us. Other buyers also do that. Please trust us.
I've already provided them more than adequate amount of information, and detailed descriptions of the problem, over $15 worth of adapters they certainly don't trust me from the sound of it.

Tomorrow (11th) (Edit: For some reason it now says "On Feb 12th" that I can request them to step in, where as before it said the 11th) I'll step it up to have ebay involved. Simply put, I know it's only $15... but they annoyed me to the point that I'm going to keep it going so least an ebay staff can see how they handle support. I really should have checked to make sure the seller themselves was also based in the US (though they can lie about that too, but not as likely to have issues).

Far as not being the same adapter for the PK

This is the listing: http://www.ebay.com/itm/261743647743

View attachment 407814

This is what I got:
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


While this was all going on, I went ahead and got a Fotodiox PK adapter with the open/close ring (As I already own 3 other fotodiox adapters), but course that one didn't look like the one on their sales page either, and the camera end was too lose (wiggled a bit and any rear cap placed on it was so loose it would fall off if you just wiggled it a little). But least with them they asked a couple questions for clarification, and sent off a replacement along with a rear cap just to make sure, which was a bit more snug as expected (though the lens side was a tad loose so I just swapped the mount ring from the first onto the new one and now it's just perfect). So... $40 adapter vs $8... you're paying for the prompt support when things don't arrive quite as expected.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom