Quick Erase setting

Robert Watcher

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
1,342
Location
El Salvador / Ontario, Canada
Coming from Nikon D200 cameras, one feature that I wasn't fussy of when purchasing my Olympus E-3 was that I had to view an image by pressing the Playback button before I could erase it. With the Nikon I could hit the erase button and the last image was gone.

In actual fact - once I got used to the new way of erasing (which I seldom do as much with the larger cards available), it hasn't really been something that I pay much attention to. However I ended up coming across a tidbit of information recently that explained the Menu settings so that I now can instantly erase my undesired E-3 images with a simple press of the erase button. In actual fact, I doubt that reading the manual would have lead me to this solution - - - and it is one that I have never seen explained on the web before.

Here is how it is done:

E-3 like E-5: Please set in menu (E-3) the options:

- 1H: Quick Erase = ON
- 1H: PRIORITY SET to "Yes"
( = "You can customize the initial position of the cursor ([YES] or [NO]) on the [ALL ERASE] or
[FORMAT] screen)

- 2: REC View = auto

Then you can erase pictures immediately after the shot (manual "Displays the image being recorded, and then switches to playback mode. This is useful for erasing a picture after checking it.)


This valuable piece of information came in the comments section of an E-5 Review Article by Robin Wong : Robin Wong: Olympus E-5 Review: Concluding Remarks and More Images

I am so greatful to Michael Lindner for being thoughtful enough to post that useful infomation. And I figure that the odds of finding it in a comments section that I may never normally have read, is pretty amazing.



OH and the E-PL1!

As for the Quick Erase function described above . . .

. . . fortunately Olympus Menu system follows a similar approach on it's different camera models - - - and I have just used the above method on my Olympus E-PL1 and now have the same Quick Erase functionality.


------

One thing that I have altered for my own preference, is to set Quick Erase = OFF. I just got thinking that it may be easy for me to bump the erase button on my E-3 and toss a shot when I wasn't intending to. By changing the setting to Quick Erase = OFF while Priority Set = On - - - it then requires a two step process using 2 different keys, but is very quick. So I still do not have to press the Replay (preview) button to be able to erase an image. All that is required is a hit of the Erase button to pop up the screen with the cursor set to YES and then hit the OK button to erase the image. Just a little extra safety for my fast paced shooting style I think.



--------
 

nishendu

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 21, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Dallas TX
I do not care for quick erase as I really like to see anything that I am about to delete. Too many regrets!
 

Bill

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
176
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Real Name
Bill (really)
Maybe it's old age, but I don't trust myself to delete anything until after I've downloaded from the card.

As a "by-the-way," I've now taken a tip from a workflow discussion in a Luminous Landscape video tutorial: They suggest that memory cards should be reformatted in the camera each time (rather than just deleting the material).
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom