Questions on original 14-45mm Kit Lens

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by OceanView, Aug 14, 2010.

1. OceanView

OceanView New to Mu-43

Aug 7, 2010
    I have a question, I am new to the m43rds world and have been investigating lenses since last week when I bought the GF1 (still in transit).
    I bought the kit with the 20mm pancake lens but am now considering the 14-45 or 14-140mm.

Why is the original 14-45mm discontinued? or is it?
    And is it much better than the new 14-42mm?

I was looking on eBay and saw this item
    Panasonic LUMIX G VARIO 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA - eBay (item 380248901811 end time Sep-04-10 22:00:26 PDT)

Is this the m43 lens or 43 lens? Hard for me to tell as I am too new to this.

Thanks in advance.

2. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    Not sure if the 14-45 is officially discontinued, but the new G-series cameras are coming out with the 14-42 as the kit lens. Based on DPR and other testing of the two lenses, the 14-45 seems sharper than the 14-42. It's also more convenient to use if you tend to switch your OIS on and off often, but it's also heavier than the 14-42.

That's the correct one. The 4/3 lenses are labeled Lumix D, while the m4/3 lenses are Lumix G.

• Like Like x 2
  3. OceanView

OceanView New to Mu-43

Aug 7, 2010
    I don't mind heavier as long as the quality is noticeably better.
    Thanks for the quick lesson in D and G classification. :smile:

4. chuckgoolsbee

chuckgoolsbee Mu-43 Regular

Apr 6, 2010
    Bend, Oregon
    Timely question as I was shooting with both the 14-45 and the 20mm tonight. The 20 is SO MUCH better than the 14-45 in terms of sharpness and speed. I've found that I shoot almost exclusively with the 20mm and the 7-14 zoom, and end up leaving the original kit zoom in the bag more often than not.

5. OceanView

OceanView New to Mu-43

Aug 7, 2010
    7-14 is on my list too.
    Just have to wait to get the funds saved up.