Questions about the Mechanics of Legacy Lens Focus and Exposure

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Mohun, Jul 23, 2014.

1. Mohun

Mohun Mu-43 Regular

Sep 19, 2012
    I'm fairly new at some of the more esoteric M43 options, but I have a couple of very nice condition, older Nikkor AIS lenses, the 105mm f/2.5 and 135mm f/2.8, and I"m wondering about the M43 adaptors for Nikon F-mount lenses to enable their use in manual mode on my GX7.

Using the adaptor mounting one of these Nikkors on the GX7:

1. Will the EVF (which I realize is not in any way a ground glass, but is presumbly directly reporting an image passed to it electronically by the camera body's sensor) show a reliable image of "sharpness" as the lens is manually focused wide open? I understand that, after focusing, I'd close down the diaphram, using the lens barrel, to the shooting aperture.

2. Would "focus peaking" work in this process?

3. If the GX7 mode is aperture priority, would the camera body metering system adjust the shutter speed to the correct exposure based on the shooting aperture and set ISO at time of squeezing the shutter?

4. Would one instead set the GX7 for manual mode and manually adjust the shutter speed as well as the shooting aperture on the lens barrel?

2. Cruzan80

Cruzan80 Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    Denver, Co
    Sean Rastsmith
    1 Yes, it will show whay is in focus. You can either focus wide open and then stop down, or focus stopped down

3/4 You can shoot in either aperture or Manual mode, and the shutter will vary accordingly.

Sent from my LG-P769 using Mu-43 mobile app

3. RobWatson

RobWatson Mu-43 Hall of Famer

1. - stopping down after focus generally does not work so well for me.

2 yes but not so much for some. I dont use it but it does work alright.

3 yes as you described. I mostly shoot in A mode with manual/adapted lenses although some times use M mode or otherwise restrict ISO in A mode.

4 Depends on the task at hand.