1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Question regarding options on Wide Angle Lenses

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by damienr8, Oct 7, 2014.

1. damienr8

damienr8 Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 12, 2014
    Hi Guys, I'm new to the M43 format coming from a 8 year old Nikon D200. I do real estate photography as a side job throughout the year and I'm switching formats due to a sensor issue with the D200. I have settled on the GX7 as my camera due to a combination of factors, one being that I feel a more portable outfit can take the place of my mobile phone camera when travelling (which i do alot). Just to clear the air, i'm not an individual that upgrades their camera on a yearly basis just to keep up - I'd like to keep this for at least 3 years.

Which brings me to this scenario. My primary requirement for the GX7 is to shoot real estate. For that i need a wide angle lens that is capable with low distortion, CA, etc. I don't need a fast wide angle since i'm usually shooting in the f8-11 range. Being that this lens will be solely for real estate, i don't actually require a lens with AF. On my Nikon i had a Sigma 10-20mm 3.5-5.6 and I was pleased with the focal range and performance. To be honest - I shoot between 10-16mm which translates to ~15mm at the widest end on a 35mm equivalent. In my preference, i have seldom the need for anything wider than 15mm.

My questions are as follows:

1. Should i go the route of getting the Panasonic 7-14mm and call it a day (maybe someone can tell me the pros/cons of this)?
    2. Are there any third party MF M43 lens offerings that might fit my needs?
    3. Should i go the Speedbooster route and get a variable zoom wide angle that fits into my requirements

Additional Info:
    1. I need to get something in the next 2 weeks - It cannot be something unreleased
    2. Out of pocket is 1K USD

kind regards,
    Damien

2. BeyondTheLines

BeyondTheLines Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 23, 2012
    Spain/USA
    Patrick