question on manual focus lenses

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by travelbug, Oct 11, 2015.

1. travelbug

travelbug Mu-43 Regular

Oct 20, 2014
    im interested in getting the rokinon 12mm f/2 which is a manual focus lens (never used one before and im relatively new to photography).
    ive read and watched reviews so i know mf lenses dont provide exif data. however i remember one or two videos mentioning that that mf lenses dont communicate with the camera body. is this true? ie will the lens feed the aperture value to the body or not?

2. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    No it wont but it's not much of an issue. Shoot in A or M mode and all will be ok.

3. travelbug

travelbug Mu-43 Regular

Oct 20, 2014
    could you expound on this for a newb like me? so if i shoot on A mode and its not feeding aperture data to the body, what use would that mode be?

4. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    Well you set the aperture on the lens itself. In A (aperture) mode the camera will adjust the shutter speed to get correct exposure.

• Like Like x 1
  5. travelbug

travelbug Mu-43 Regular

Oct 20, 2014
    so the lens does give the correct aperture setting to the body still?

6. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    No. But the camera will adjust the exposure to compensate for your manual aperture setting. It can't change the aperture on the lens that is up to you

• Like Like x 1
  7. Carbonman

Carbonman Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 10, 2014
    Vancouver BC
    Graham