1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Question on E-PL1 and Panny 20mm

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by xilos, Dec 19, 2010.

1. xilos

xilos New to Mu-43

Dec 19, 2010
    Hey guys, first post here..

I'm new to m4/3 cameras and came from simple P&S. I already had my E-PL1 shipped to my address and im just waiting for it to arrive. I was just wondering if I also need to get the Panny 20mm f1.7. I'm not a hardcore photographer and most of my pictures are for personal use. I just thought about upgrading to something different and maybe improving my personal pictures. This can range from simple walking around to big events. I've been reading around and people make it sound like it's "a must" to get that lens for the EPL.

So, is it something an E-PL1 user can't live without? I mean how much of an improvement does it offer compared to the kit lens? :frown:

• Like Like x 1
  2. Mellow

Mellow Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 27, 2010
    Florida or Idaho
    Tom
    It's certainly not a 'must', though it's a great lens and it really expands the range of the camera in two ways: (a) it's really fast, so you can shoot indoors without a flash; and (b) it makes the camera really small, so it can actually fit in a big pocket.

When I was in your shoes I bought the 20mm at the same time I bought the E-PL1 and don't regret it, but it was definitely a big chunk of change up front. I've found I use it a lot (actually more than the 14-42).

But you can sure have a lot of fun with the kit lens by itself, so don't sweat it. It depends on how much you want to spend.

Good luck, you'll going to love your camera!

3. twalker294

twalker294 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2010
    If you have never experienced using a DSLR with a fast prime and the wonderful ambient lighting and blurred backgrounds that it can give you, then the 20/1.7 will open your eyes to a world of photography that you have never known.