1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Question about resolution and expectations

Discussion in 'Creative Corner' started by dulaney22, Oct 12, 2010.

1. dulaney22

dulaney22 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 18, 2010
    I don't want to become a fanatic about resolution, but I'm new to all this and would like to know just what to expect from the u4/3 format, or photography in general. I'm attaching a quick snap of my son and his cousin taken last Saturday. I used an E-P1 and Minolta Rokkor 28/2.8 set to hyperfocal at f/11. I think EV was turned to -.7 or so and shutter at 1/60. The first is an already slight crop and the second pic shows more than a 1:1 from Lightroom.

My ignorance relates to what you see in the zoomed shot, where the pixels or whatever they are are readily observed. It doesn't look so bad in the non-zoomed pic, but you can tell they are there even at that perspective. What you get is a less sharp image than what I do from the 20mm Panny lens. I don't know if it's because the subject moving, DR or what?

My question is . . . how do I or can I expect to make this picture sharper? This was shot in burst mode and I don't think shake was a problem. I don't know if I can expect anything more from the lens or the camera, but if I can I would like to know how to improve. I know I could add luminance in LR, but I only sharpened it a bit, added fill light and touched the overall exposure just a little.

Thoughts and suggestions will be much appreciated.

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dulaney22/5074015286/" title="PA103615.jpg by dulaney22, on Flickr"> View attachment 151159 "1024" height="768" alt="PA103615.jpg" /></a>

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dulaney22/5075796090/" title="5074015286_d8d468c035_o by dulaney22, on Flickr">
    5075796090_31a317d7a8_b.jpg