1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Question about noise/sharpness with EM5 MK2 and Pro 12-40 lens

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Markv77, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Markv77

Markv77 New to Mu-43

Oct 24, 2015
    Hi all,

I'm new to MFT cameras. Used a Canon 60D prior to this. I picked up a EM5 Mk2 with the Pro 12-40 F2.8 lens. Overall, I'm extremely happy with the quality and reduced size. Portraits and even macro shots are really great with this combo. I had planned to get a fast prime as well, but this 12-40 lens does amazing bokeh. I may skip a prime for a while.

That said, I took a picture of the back of a house and it's pretty blurry. The roof shingles are really blurry. I don't know why. I shot it at iso 200, f9, 1/165. I could have gone a little faster in shutter, but still felt this was really noisey. I used the single autofocus, IBIS set to S-IS1. I took several shots, even resting it on a stationary table for some. They were all similar. What am I doing wrong? I'll try to upload the picture.
    MVDW0006.JPG

2. bikerhiker

bikerhiker Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 24, 2013
    Canada
    David
    Have RAW, we will try to help.

3. Lcrunyon

Lcrunyon Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 4, 2014
    Maryland
    Loren
    It isn't tack sharp (which could be any number of issues), but unless I blow it up/pixel peep, it doesn't look all that bad to me, especially by way of noise. Do you think you might be pixel peeping?

Is it RAW? HDR might have helped. Hi Rez mode probably would have been perfect for this shot, if you had some way to stabilize the camera. Keystoning would have straightened the sides (not that you asked that).

Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  4. Growltiger

Growltiger Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2014
    UK
    It looks sharp. I think your eye may be confused by the moire effect of the roof tiles. Have a look at the chimney at 100%.

5. Nawty

Nawty Mu-43 Regular

May 1, 2015