1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Question about GF1 manual mode

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by mzd, Jan 13, 2011.

1. mzd

mzd Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Hello all. I'm very new to the :43: system. My fiancee and I got each other the GF1 w/ 20mm for Christmas so I've only had a few weeks to play with it. My current shooting style is to first spot meter in Aperture mode and then move to Manual and do most of my shooting there, making adjustments to both aperture and shutter speed as necessary. I've noticed that in Manual mode, the exposure compensation graph updates (+/- EV) as the camera is moved around. Is this just a suggestion based on the camera's meter? I don't think the camera is actually applying that setting on it's own because as far as I've noticed, I don't think any of my shots have EV comp when I bring them up in Lightroom.
    I'm also curious as to how setting the ISO sensitivity to 1/3 EV actually works. Is there truly 640 ISO or does the camera just split the difference between 400 and 800?

2. stratokaster

stratokaster Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 4, 2011
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Pavel
    Yes, this is just a suggestion. The camera shows how much the image is over- or underexposed in its opinion.

As far as I understand, ISO 640 image is just an underexposed ISO 400 image.

3. mzd

mzd Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2010
    Wisconsin
    thanks stratokaster!
    i did notice that in Auto ISO mode, the camera will choose the intermediate ISO values regardless of whether you have them enabled in the menu.

4. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    "Program shift" allows you to do what you are without having to change the mode dial and decrease the chances of a hugely missed exposure.

5. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal
    Why not spot meter in manual mode and skip the middle man?

6. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal