1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Question about copyright watermark

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Truebeam, Jul 2, 2014.

1. Truebeam

Truebeam Mu-43 Regular

Feb 19, 2014
    San Francisco Bay Area
    I am new to photography and this forum. I have shared some pictures with a copyright mark on them. I just received this PM today.

"Lily, unless you intend to sell your photos, I strongly recommend that you not deface them with a copyright notice. Others don't seem to mind, but I find them so annoying and distracting that I never leave thanks for a photo that has one"

Honestly the reason I stick a watermark on my shared photos is not because I think my work is so good. The reason is actually that I am paranoid about people using my photo (mainly my son's) in any inappropriate way. But I don't know if the copyright mark does anything. I might be just silly. Would appreciate your opinions.

BTW what is copyright notice? How do I do it when I share pictures?

Many thanks in advance!

Lily

2. RobWatson

RobWatson Mu-43 Hall of Famer

People will always find something to complain about ...

Elon Musk may want to not enforce his patents but expecting everyone else to also do so is remarkably silly. They are your photos so do what you want with them. If you don't protect your copyrights then they may as well not exist at all!

• Like Like x 2
  3. BarefootPilgrim

BarefootPilgrim Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 23, 2009
    Westchester, IL
    Bob
    Lily, there are always naysayers and folks who dislike things others do like. I wouldn't let that comment disturb you. When you share a photo you should be able to feel confident that it won't be misused (in any way). So if the copyright notice helps you feel safer about sharing a pic, then use it. After all, it's your photo; post it the way you want to post it and don't worry about what someone else might dislike about it.

[edit] Oh... And the Spork be with you!
    :wink: