1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Quality of images from G5

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by mazg, Aug 27, 2013.

1. mazg

mazg Mu-43 Regular

Aug 20, 2013
    Hi everyone
    I purchased a G5 last week. I love the camera's size, features and menu system/ease of use. However, I'm finding the quality of the images coming out of it disappointing as they just seem to be dull and not sharp. I want to love this camera but right now I'm on the fence and the clock ticking to return it.

I have been shooting with Nikon DSLR for the past 8 years and I have some good 1.8 primes and 2.8 zooms. Am I just being unrealistic in my expectations? Typically I'd shoot in jpg mode on the D7000.

I have looked at the photos linked on this site and on flickr and mine just don't seem to be as good (IMHO), although it's hard to tell as most of the images aren't full size. I have the 14-42 and the 20 1.7, but don't see any significant difference in the quality between the two, or between raw or jpg.

This camera was a demo unit but I don't see any visible defects on the lens/camera. I've been shooting with Natural, customized to 0 contrast, +1 sharp, +1 saturation, -2 NR (I started at 0,0,0,0) but have been trying to get more sharpness, saturation and less noise on the images.

Here are some sample full size images both shot with the 14-42.
    https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2807/9604839164_8e5edb1c6b_o.jpg
    https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5331/9605024992_e56d6c74c9_o.jpg
    and with the 20 1.7:
    https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7450/9601774747_e679a7e0e7_o.jpg

Are there some other settings I should try?

2. ntblowz

ntblowz Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 13, 2011
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Do you have i-resolution and i-dynamic turned on? When I had GH2 I always shoot in Vivid to get more vibrant colour, on Olympus though I shoot in nature.

3. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK