1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Puzzling CA issue

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Underwater, Apr 7, 2015.

1. Underwater

Underwater Mu-43 Regular

Jun 1, 2014
    Eugene, Oregon
    Paul
    I'm fairly new to LR, and I'll admit I have a lot to learn as far as post processing. Those caveats lead to my question- I've noticed some horrible CA with shots from my E-M1 when I drop the exposure and highlights in certain underwater scenes shooting up towards the sun. I've noticed it with the 9-18 behind a dome, and with the 12-50 behind a flat port- both with different shutter speeds. The example below was shooting up through some pilings at the sun with the 9-18, and I'm having difficulty removing it in post. I'm guessing a lot of this is from trying to recover too much from the (intentionally) blown highlights, but I don't remember it ever being this bad with my E-PL2- is there something unique about this problem with the E-M1? The bummer is that I also notice it at 1/320- that's the max sync speed, and one of the reasons I wanted to switch bodies in the first place. Any thoughts?

Attached Files:

2. pellicle

pellicle Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 10, 2010
    Southport, OzTrailEYa
    pellicle
    looks that way to me ... its not CA if you ask me

less agressive recovery? Accept that (without hdr) that there is a limited range and once your exposure moves into shadows that highlight areas will go 'radioactive'

some systems do some good recovery blending, have you done any colour shifts or corrections of light balance which may cause that shift into the cyan? If yes, then probably that's 'screwed' with your (fade to white) recovery

3. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    Explanation? All bets are off. It would be much easier to diagnose if you took it above water but you were below so at the very least the following things are occurring: