1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Purchasing dilemma

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by fastglass, Jan 11, 2013.

1. fastglass

fastglass New to Mu-43

Jan 8, 2013
    Hi guys. Newbie here, so try not to be too hard on me :smile: I finally decided to get serious about photography after a couple of false starts. I have been lurking around here for quite a while trying to gather as much info as possible. This place seems full of very knowledgeable & amicable people who happen to take great pictures, so the decision to register wasn't difficult. Hopefully, I won't bog you down with my neophyte questions too much :wink:

Having said that, I plan to sometime in the near future go on a vacation where the subject matter I will be shooting will consist mostly of landscapes, buildings (architecture), museums (low light conditions) and general street photography. I recently purchased a GX1 and the only lens that I have for it is the 14-42 zoom kit. After countless time spent here (as well as review sites) reading & rereading threads and articles I think that I've narrowed down my choices to the following three lenses:

Panasonic 7-14mm (For land/cityscape shots)
    Panasonic 25mm (Will be my primary lens. Low light & Bokeh. Not much concerned about size issue in comparison to the P20)
    Panasonic 45-175mm (Basic zoom lens)

I think that I'm pretty much set on the standard lens option (P25). The wide & telephoto options are up in the air though. Should I get a P14 if I already have the 14-42? Or an Oly 75mm instead of the 45-175? Decisions, decisions...
    I know that questions such as these have been beaten to death around here, but anyone who wants to contribute further to my purchasing indecisiveness is more than welcome :)

P.S. Sorry for the long rant. Thanks in advance for your replies/comments :thumbup:

2. dcassat

dcassat Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 16, 2011
    Cloverdale,CA