1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Pulling the lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by rosslaird, Dec 16, 2013.

1. rosslaird

rosslaird New to Mu-43

Dec 13, 2013
    This is about as basic a question as possible, but I'm new to this and there are lots of things I'm trying to figure out. So:

On my GX1 I have a 14-42 lens. I can use the zoom wheel (or whatever it's called -- the bezel on the lens) to extend the lens, but I can also pull on the end of the lens, which is a bit faster if I want to zoom all the way in. But I suspect that pulling on the end of the lens is not necessarily the best way to zoom. It probably puts more torsional stress on the internal components of the lens.

Or maybe pulling on the end of the lens is perfectly OK. I'm really not sure, and I don't want to damage the lens or shorten its life.

Suggestions and feedback most welcome.

2. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

NEVER pull on the end of a lens! You could brake it or at least cause it to fail or be misaligned. This is even more important if you have the power zoom lens{there are several 14-42mm lenses}. To zoom rotate the "zoom ring" on a regular zoom or use the "zoom rocker switch" on the power zoom lens.

If you do have the power zoom and it is too slow for you then get a regular zoom, they zoom very quickly with a twist of the wrist.

Back in the day they did make lenses that had push/pull controls that were combined with the focus ring but they were designed for it.

• Like Like x 1
  3. rosslaird

rosslaird New to Mu-43

Dec 13, 2013
    Thanks. That is what I suspected.
    (I have the non-powered zoom lens.)

4. LowriderS10

LowriderS10 Monkey with a camera.

May 19, 2013
    Canada