Pro's don't use lens caps?

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Darren Bonner, Jun 9, 2013.

1. Darren Bonner

Darren Bonner Mu-43 All-Pro

May 1, 2013
    Poole UK
    I have recently read on several threads that pro/ex-pro photographers don't use lens caps when carrying their lenses. The reason for this is to change the lenses quicker to get that shot without having to fiddle about with caps, I can understand that.
    Being a hobbyist photographer, I suppose I baby my lenses by keeping the caps on. The main reason is I don't want dust debris getting onto the glass and damaging the lenses and possibly getting into the camera too.
    Can any pro/ex-pro expand on this? Are some of us hobbyist being over cautious?
  2. cstevens

cstevens Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 11, 2010
    Have to admit, when the camera bag is packed away then lens caps are on, however when on assignment or out on the streets, no I never keep lens caps on, I remove them all and store them in a pocket in the bag.

I have filters on all the time to protect glass, so the worse that can happen is scratch a filter but thats never happened. Most of my lenses have hoods as well.
  3. dav1dz

dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    Depending on what kind of lens, small scratches won't show up in your images anyway.

I put the caps on when I have a moment. When I don't, I'm not afraid to leave them in a pocket or camera bag briefly without any caps. No filters are permanently attached to any of my lenses. I carry a 58 mm polarizer that I use with step-up rings when the situation calls for it.
  4. rklepper

rklepper Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 19, 2012
    Iowa, USA
    When out shooting no lens caps. I use hood hats then.
  5. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011