Problem with exporting DNG files from Lightroom to DXO Photolab

Brecht

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
217
Location
Belgium
Hi guys,

This is my workflow: I convert all of my images to DNG, import them into Lightroom 6.1 for cataloging and export them to DXO Photolab 4 for editing. This works perfectly. However, it doesn't work for DNG files created in Lightroom, such as panoramas or HDR. When I try to export them, DXO opens, but the result is that the film strip (or how is this thing called) stays empty. Am I doing something wrong?
 
Last edited:

Brecht

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
217
Location
Belgium
I tried this and it creates a TIFF image, which limits the editing options (no prime noise reduction available for example). So not a complete solution, but thanks for the tip.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
1,812
Location
SW England
Real Name
Rob
Unfortunately I can't help, but I've noticed this myself with similar cases - I'd assumed it was something to do with the image no longer being a straight "copy" of a single capture from a camera, and therefore something about the resulting DNG was not quite correct for DXO. Interested to know if there's a workaround. I wanted to use prime NR on a stacked astro image to see what happened (I know stacking results in less noise, but I'd only taken seven frames when I should probably have taken a lot more).
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
122
Location
California
Hi guys,

This is my workflow: I convert all of my images to DNG, import them into Lightroom 6.1 for cataloging and export them to DXO Photolab 4 for editing. This works perfectly. However, it doesn't work for DNG files created in Lightroom, such as panoramas or HDR. When I try to export them, DXO opens, but the result is that the film strip (or how is this thing called) stays empty. Am I doing something wrong?
The output of Lightroom's panorama and HDR tools is a linear DNG, which is a demosaiced file. DxO PhotoLab needs a raw file that has not been demosaiced.
 

Brecht

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
217
Location
Belgium
The output of Lightroom's panorama and HDR tools is a linear DNG, which is a demosaiced file. DxO PhotoLab needs a raw file that has not been demosaiced.
So I gather it's technically impossible to export them.

Does anyone have ideas for a workaround?
 

Brecht

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
217
Location
Belgium
You can send the raw files that made up the HDR or panorama to DXO and then when they come back do the pano or HDR merge
I can see this working for the panorama, thanks.
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom