1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

"Pro"

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by cucco, Feb 17, 2011.

1. cucco

cucco Mu-43 Regular

Dec 28, 2010
    I'm always interested to read this word used in context.

The word itself connotes the use of an item for the fulfillment of a profession. On this forum, I see folks suggesting they wish either Oly or Pan would release a "Pro" m4/3 body or "Pro" m4/3 lenses. On other photo related sites, I see folks refer to one camera body as "pro," yet another camera body (often decremented by 1 model number) as "not pro," or "consumer," or "amateur." In photo magazines such as Pop Photo, I see a slider scale that rates a camera on a level between amateur and pro.

I have to other professions in addition to my day job. I'm an active freelance classical musician (horn player) and own a recording facility. In both of these communities, the term "pro" is used (and abused) repeatedly as well.

In recording gear, folks are constantly asking which microphones or audio interfaces or software or cables or blah, blah, blah are "pro." My answer to most of them is - I can get the job done and sell the final product using any of that gear. So....to me, it counts as pro.

In the horn playing world, students and amateurs constantly seek a "professional" instrument. Yet musicians that are truly "pros" do not seek an instrument for its "pro" status or rating. Rather, they pick the instrument that allows them to freely express themselves with as few compromises as possible. Sure, they tend to be "more expensive," but not always. (In fact, numerous orchestras throughout the US have entire sections made up of the ubiquitous "Conn 8D French horn" - a $2500 horn. Despite the proliferation of $15,000-$20,000 custom horns currently available.)