1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Primes or Zooms?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by acnomad, Mar 27, 2016.

1. acnomad

acnomad Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 5, 2016
    Andy
    As it looks like we're going to take it slowly this morning and go to the late morning Easter service, I thought I would start a thread to seek some advice as I have been rethinking my kit. I'm shooting native primes at the moment, but intrigued by the convenience of fast zooms. Not in a hurry to change - just pondering...

Present kit: P14/2.5, P20/1.7, O25/1.8, P42.5/1.7, O75/1.8 (bodies: EM1, EP3, GM1)
    Strongly considering: P12-35/2.8 or O12-40/2.8
    Willing to consider: P35-100/2.8
    Less likely, but intriguing: O40-150/2.8

I'm a hobbyist, shooting a fairly equal blend of family, kids sports, travel, attempts at artistic images. I also have a variety of adapted Nikon glass (24, 35, 50, 55 Micro, 105, 80-200, 500).

Here's the table I made to analyze the options:
    Zooms-Primes Grid.

Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
    • Like Like x 1