1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

prime for indoor children pics

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by citan, Jan 2, 2013.

1. citan

citan Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 24, 2011
    Piscataway, NJ
    hi guys,
    Im a beginner that just picked up a G3 kit.
    I wanted to get a lens for low light, indoor pics of my little kids w/o flash.
    With the kit lens, the pics either get blurred or under exposed.
    I was trying to decide if 14mm 2.5 was fast enough, or would i need the
    20mm?
    Also, is there a big difference between the kit 3.5 at 14mm and the prime 14 2.5?
    how about the difference between f1.7 vs f2.5?

thanks

2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    My recommendation if you're looking for an indoor lens to use without flash is the Panasonic 25mm f/1.4, if you can fit it in your budget.

The 14mm f/2.5 probably won't be fast enough for indoor pics in a lot of situations without flash, especially on the G3 where I wouldn't want to push ISO above 1600 if I didn't have to. The 20mm is an excellent lens, but has much slower AF due that will be a liability working with moving subjects indoors. The 14 and 20 are both great lenses and I have no concerns recommending them generally, but I think for your specifically stated purpose the PL 25mm may be a better choice.

• Like Like x 1
  3. McDark

McDark Mu-43 Regular

Oct 26, 2011
    Russia
    25 1/1.4 is excellent for low light and wide enough for the purpose. 20 mm has slow focusing motor and too wide to my taste.

• Like Like x 1
  4. tuanies

tuanies Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 13, 2011
    Graham, WA
    Tuan Huynh
    The 25mm F/1.4 is the sole lens I use for indoor shots of my kid. I've never had to fire off the flash, ever.

This is with dim lighting at the in laws and more shots on my flickr.

8311867548_b02845a8b6.
    Christmas Eve 2012 by tuanies, on Flickr

• Like Like x 1
  5. zucchiniboy

zucchiniboy Mu-43 Regular