1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

PP software question

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by 369, Jul 1, 2011.

1. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    I am not good with PP, right now I just use picasa for some quick editing. I recently got to know about Nik silver efex pro 2 which is supposed to be very good for black and white, and have a few questions.

How easy will it be for me to use SEP2? I don't have any softwares to edit except for iphoto and picasa. What will I need to use SEP2?

I can't install the trail because my macbook is old and needs replacement. It says on their website 4 gb or more recommended, so when I buy a new macbook, should I go for 8 gb ram.

I also read somewhere on fredmiranda forum the the SEP2 was very slow, what has been your experience.

How is the color efex? the combo is cheaper.. so may be I can buy both.

This is not for professional work, just for personal use.

Kindly suggest?

2. The Nik software operates as plugins, not stand alone programs. You will need either Photoshop, Lightroom, or Aperture to launch the plugins. I am running a soon-to-be-replaced four year old notebook with Pentium Dual Core 1.7GHz and 1Gb RAM. Silver Efex can be very slow depending on file size and the complexity of the image but Color Efex still runs quite quickly.

Color Efex, BTW, is freakin' awesome.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Alanroseman

Alanroseman Super Moderator Emeritus

Dec 21, 2010
    New England
  4. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    I think I also need to mention that I need something that is cost effective for home use editing.
    @- luckypenguin - thanks for clarifying that... I am planning on a macbook pro probably with 4gb.

@Alan - I see that these Photoshop, Lightroom, or Aperture are the most popular with the members around here. Also like you said "and perhaps more importantly, who can help you with your current setup" is very important else I will be lost.

Any volunteers.......haha