Portrait - native lenses for MFT cameras

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by 369, Jun 19, 2011.

1. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    Hi,

I just got to know about the 85mm lens is best for portrait (DSLR). In terms of micro four third cameras, is there an equivalent prime portrait native lens available? if yes which ones, if no then what lens do you guys use for portrait photography.

2. carpandean

carpandean Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 29, 2010
    Western NY
    The forthcoming Oly 45mm f/1.8 will be the closest. The current PL 45mm is OK, but the depth of field is not super shallow (f/2.8). Some use the 20mm f/1.7, too.

If your DSLR is full frame, then the FOV will be close. If not, it will be wider on the 45mm in :43: (90mm equiv., while 85mm in DSLRs is 127-136mm equiv., depending on the brand.)

3. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    Thanks for the info.
    Well, I don't have a dslr, I am just an amateur, and wanted some info, for buying my next lens for the EP-1.

4. Grant

Grant Mu-43 Veteran

Many years ago I use to do a lot of portraits work. I did them in a studio with controlled lighting and a 2 1/4" camera sit a 150 mm lens which is similar to a 85 mm on a full frame dSLR. I rarely shot wide open as the background was controlled. The point of using a mildly telephoto lens is to force you to step back. This creates an image where the relationship of the size of the nose to the ears is very pleasant. A wider angle lens tends to create a nosecone effect and a longer lens runs the risk of making the image flat the image.

With the ยต43 system a lens used somewhere between 35 - 45 mm will be ideal. If you have a fast lens it does have the added advantage of being able to soften the background if you are not in a studio.

You can use the 20 mm lens if you want but just have to step back and crop your image give the desired portrait look.

• Like Like x 3
  5. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley