1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Poll: Being honest, do you really need pin-sharp lenses?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by oldracer, Nov 26, 2015.

1. Actually no. Virtually all of my photos are only seen on computer monitors.

8 vote(s)
    8.7%
  2. Actually no. I print my images once in a while but 8" x 10" or so is about the maximum size.

12 vote(s)
    13.0%
  3. Yes. I often print very large, more than 20" on one edge.

14 vote(s)
    15.2%
  4. Yes. I often crop heavily and the lens resolution begins to show.

27 vote(s)
    29.3%
  5. Yes. I'm a pro and I regularly sell my images. They have to be the best I can create.

4 vote(s)
    4.3%
  6. Yes. I'm an unreformed pixel-peeper and want the best possible images regardless of practical need.

12 vote(s)
    13.0%
  7. No. I have other reasons to be unconcerned about ultimate sharpness, explained in my post.

8 vote(s)
    8.7%
  8. Yes. I have other reasons to need the best possible sharpness, explained in my post.

7 vote(s)
    7.6%
  1. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    (Seems like a good day to throw a rock into the pond.)

There is a lot of talk around here about the "best" lenses and concern about relatively small differences in sharpness. My suspicion has been that, although these are fun discussions, very few of us are using our images in a way that ultimate sharpness will even be seen.

What say you?

2. PakkyT

PakkyT Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 20, 2015
    New England
    For me it is one of those things where I am not worried abut the ultimate sharpness but when some shots come out a tad soft, it does seem noticeable. But that said the subject matter of my shots are usually the most important and a few of my favorite shots have been not so sharp and even one or two a tad out of focus, but because I liked the over all shot so much I kept them despite their flaws.