1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Please recommend HDR Software

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by fljoe, Aug 15, 2012.

1. fljoe

fljoe Mu-43 Regular

Dec 30, 2011
    FL
    Hello,

I am interested in doing HDR photography. I am a total novice, so would like to know what software people recommend for a total newcomer to the world of HDR photography. I have Lightroom 4, so any recommendations for plug-in software to LR4?

I searched the forum and found the following:
    1) Nik's HDR Efex Pro 2
    2) Photomatix Pro 4.2

Some free options:
    1) Luminance HDR
    2) Essential HDR Community Edition

Thank you for all your inputs!

2. newbert

newbert Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 22, 2012
    Glens Falls, NY
    I have both Photomatix and HDR Efex Pro (Version 1 though....), and overall I prefer Photomatix because I feel that it's easier to get a "natural" looking result from it. I believe that each offers a free 15-30 day trial, so why not try them for yourself?

Each can be set up to be used as an external editor with LR4. With that said, there's also another plug-in exclusively available for Lightroom called "Enfuse". I have never tried it, but it might also be worth your while.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Reactions

Reactions Mu-43 Regular

Jul 24, 2012
    Norcal
    Gabe
    I use photoshop which is pretty nicely integrated with Lightroom.

You batch select your photos and then right click - create HDR in photoshop

4. digitaldan1

digitaldan1 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 22, 2010
    I have and prefer Photomatix. If you already have Photoshop give it a try as the previous poster suggested. If you're happy with the results then you don't have to buy another program.

5. Mithrandir

Mithrandir New to Mu-43

Aug 13, 2012